Going Live has taken over!

Okay, i’ve been busy working on our going Live project and it’s gone through some major changes! First of all i was in charge of modelling our hybrid character: the wolf eating grandma!, so i used my existing skinny wolf mesh and added a new head around existing Grandma- already modelled by Fincher

Hybridmodelling_009 Hybridmodelling_010

UV mapping the hybrid, it then went on to be textured by Fincher.

Screen Shot 2015-03-01 at 15.35.39

Texturing my Skinny wolf model! Textures made by Sandra, applied by me

complete_wolf_tex

After feedback from our clients, our project assets had to change a little. Little round riding hood was criticized as “not looking finished”. I designed some concepts to add minimal detail to her existing mesh…

IMG_0787 IMG_0794

i got to work adding some detail to her existing mesh that would help her fit the polished look of my skinny wolf model, which was praised

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 15.21.36

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 15.38.39

UV mapping and texturing LRRH’s new details: Apron and bow with improved sleeves and braids. textures made by Sandra, applied by me.

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 16.28.15 Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 01.57.40 Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 16.42.13

Morphing my hybrid model to make an exaggerated blendshape. I used soft selection and the lattice deformer to achieve a more extreme progression of the big bad wolf’s difficult meal.

Screen Shot 2015-03-09 at 17.38.19

We made some serious cuts to the length of our project after feedback from our clients that it was too ambitious to be completed to a high standard giving the time and man-power we have remaining.

IMG_0755

The new (much shorter) animatic that i put together!

The group feels a lot more confident about being able to complete the project to a high standard now.

Reflection on Practice:

I need to update this blog more…

The goals thing i was doing has slipped a little, and i really need to pick it up again especially since it’s crunch time for our research module and mid way/ kick off for animating on Going Live, AND me and a few others in my class have decided to go to a 48 hour animation event in Glasgow this coming weekend! http://theanijam.com/

I’m really proud of the commitment i made to perfecting my modelling and texturing for Going Live. But i am still falling behind with tasks that involve stepping out of my comfort zone. So i need to be braver and take these tasks by the horns! Now more than ever i need to stay in control of my production management role since my co-manager has to take some time away from the project.

My personal project has fallen far down my list of priorities which i am not proud of… i hope to pick up the pace on it again this week after conducting some research that links my personal project with my research paper.

Leave a comment