Going Live Animation progress: Completing My Scenes!

I was given the task to animate Little Round Riding hood’s mouth flapping. There is no specific lipsync, and the camera will be very close-up. There will be “mi-mi-mi” sounds for her voice and the narrator will be translating her speech into english over the top of these.

I experimented with using different 2D expressions at different speeds and consulted my team for quick feedback. The final animation can be slightly sped up or slowed down as required and also cut down since i deliberately made it a little too long (according to animatic time).

I was given the task of animating Little Round’s reaction to her grandmother forcing her way out of the wolf’s body.

I was having trouble getting an expressive enough reaction without any eyes to work with so i filmed some reference of myself, and this gave me the idea of adding secondary action into her shoulders and head to give the reaction more emphasis.

I’m satisfied with my final animation but open to feedback now if others feel like it needs tweaks. The camera still has to be set up and animated.

After overcoming initial problems Scene 1 is now complete and ready for render!

To help me with my 3D animation i’ve been following a tutorial by Ron Friedman on Digital tutors, he has a background in 2D animation and his tutorial was based around animating a sneaking burglar character: both these aspects of the tutorial attracted me. I was hoping to capture something of classic 2D Wil E Coyote in my skinny wolf character, and coming from a 2D background and comfort zone myself i felt familiar with this tutor’s way of thinking. The sneaking burglar character had a lot in common in terms of motive with my skinny wolf aswell!

Leave a comment